Gray Away Enhanced Henna (Review)

I love my dark black hair and I never really have time to touch up my roots. I call them my natural highlights when they start showing and people notice. They always seem to make an appearance when I’m stressing more than usual. 

Recently I was reading online about hair dye that would be natural. I found the gray away enhanced henna. The more I read about it the more I liked what it was saying about the product. It had me at natural and that it would last. I just knew I had to personally try it out. 

ABOUT THE PRODUCT

Treasured Locks is pleased to announce our breakthrough product Gray Away Enhanced Henna. You’ve wanted to dye your hair at home, but were scared of the damage you might do to your hair and scalp because of the harsh chemicals and complicated instructions. You’ve tried all natural products that just don’t cover the gray hair. Dyeing your hair at home can save you both time and money, but how do you do it effectively? Gray Away Enhanced Henna is the answer. Treasured Locks Gray Away Enhanced Henna is a natural herbal based (henna) product that contains just a small amount of actual dye, just enough, to cover those stubborn gray hairs. Designed to dye gray hair and hair that is close to the color you are trying to achieve, Gray Away Enhanced Henna can be both safe and effective because it contains no harsh chemicals like peroxides that lift color before dyeing. As a result the product is not intended to turn black hair red, for example. Gray Away Enhanced Henna will never lighten hair, only darken it or enhance the natural color. Using a color like red on black hair will produce red highlights. Because of the minimal amount of chemical dye, the product does not cause harm to the hair or scalp. In fact, repeated usage can actually enhance the condition of your hair leaving it more manageable and softer.

Gray Away Enhanced Henna is:

Easy to Use

Safe

Pesticide Free

Ammonia Free

Peroxide Free

Cruelty Free

As you may be aware, we have been selling a henna based hair dye for many years. We are excited to be able to offer you more than 75% more product, almost twice as much, for the same price. We have also improved the packaging so no more jars with broken seals or spilled product. With over 75% more product, those of you who were having to buy two jars can now very likely get by with one jar giving you a significant cost saving and making the product even more economical. If you liked the product we were selling, you’re going to love this product. If you haven’t tried our Henna for Gray Coverage, now is the time to give it a try and start saving time and money by covering those grays naturally, at home. 

Instructions: 

DIRECTIONS FOR USE – MUST READ FULLY BEFORE USING THIS PRODUCT Safety Instructions: Read Before Use:

To test for allergic reactions, first apply the paste on the inside of your elbow and let it dry for some time. Watch for any reaction. In case of reddening, burning or itching do not use the product further. Otherwise go ahead and safely use Treasuredlocks Henna hair colors.

Perform a skin allergy test 48 hours before each product use.
STRAND TEST: Strand test is done to preview the actual color that will appear after dyeing your hair. DIRECTIONS FOR USE:

Apply this color only to dry and clean hair.

Put on gloves.

Empty contents of Treasuredlocks Henna hair color pouch into a bowl and pour water in to make a paste. Add three parts of water to one part of henna powder. Stir it well. Ensure there are no lumps. Ensure that the paste is soft, not too thick or too thin, so that it can be easily applied to the hair. Do not let the paste remain unused for long as its efficiency reduces. Prepare mixture immediately before use, never sooner.

Use a brush and comb for application. Separate hair into partings with a comb and apply henna with a brush working from the roots upward. Focus on the grey areas and roots. Work gently through every section of your hair. Apply repeatedly. In case of long hair, pile it up. If paste gets on skin, gently wipe it off with a damp towel.

Allow the hair to absorb color applied thoroughly for 20 minutes and let it become completely dry. For resistant gray hair, leave for an additional 5-10 minutes (for 30 minutes total). Now wash hair with water and shampoo until rinsing water becomes clear and entirely colorless. Keep eyes and mouth closed while washing your hair. After drying hair with towel or a dryer, set it in a style you prefer.

Use the contents of this pouch with a single application & do not keep for later once opened. Product will lose its potency.

CAUTION: Treasuredlocks Henna Hair Color should NOT be used for dyeing eyelashes or eyebrows, as severe inflammation of the eye or even blindness may occur. We do not entertain any therapeutic claims whatsoever. Keep it far out of the reach of children. This product is for external use only. 

HOW TO LIGHTEN YOUR HAIR COLOR OR CREATE STREAKS: Users who don’t have grey hair and wish to lighten their hair color can do so by bleaching a certain portion of hair to create a streak or a brand and then using Treasuredlocks Henna Hair Color to color it with any of the shades that the Treasuredlocks Henna Hair Coloring Range carries. 

USEFUL ADVICE: • Use gloves before coloring your hair. • To avoid staining on the skin, apply a little petroleum jelly or a thick conditioner on the skin around the hairline (but avoiding the hair) before you begin. • Do not shampoo immediately before coloring. If hair is very soiled or has heavy buildup of styling aids, shampoo 24 hours before application. • Do not mix any other products with this color. This can reduce the strength of this hair dye. Note: The above method is for dyeing grey hair. To dye Black/Brown/Blonde hair, your hair must first be bleached. Color results may vary with hair type. Your natural hair color and amount of grey hair will determine final color result.  

This hair color is available in 9 different colors. You can go to the website at Treasure locks and look to see which one is best for your personal use. 

I ordered myself the black which is basically my own natural color. The colors are $11.99 each. You may think that’s steep in price but honestly for good hair dye and coverage of gray it’s a great price. It seems to be a reasonable price for me. When I opened up the package it was GREEN my first thought was “omg what!” No worries it changes to the proper color it should be later on when you mix it up. Now for me I used more than half the color because my hair is THICK AND LONG. You can tell by my photos. I love my hair hair though. I kept it short when I was younger but just didn’t fit me at all. Now if you have shorter hair when you mix up your color you may can just use half the mix. Then have some left over for next time to redo your hair once gray begins to appear. Now since like I told you my hair being THICK AND LONG is the reason I personally mixed up more. I didn’t want to miss any spots or not have full coverage of the color all over my hair. 

Once you get the hair color and you take it out of the bag like I said it’s going to be green. Don’t let this part freak you out. You have no reason to worry. It will turn out the color you ordered once you mix it up as I said above. This was simple to mix up. You just need to mix 3 parts boiling water but honestly I used coffee because my hair color was black and I wanted it a darker color. Then 1-2 tablespoobs of apple cider vinegar (I had this on hand due to weight loss but you may have to go get some from the store. It’s a must need when mixing this – don’t skip this step). This will turn into a paste form – remember a paste is thicker not like runny or anything. You want it to be able to stick to your hair so you will get great coverage of the color. BTW: If you hair is shorter you may want to subtract some coffee/hot water or the ACV. It’s up to you how you mix it but just wanted to throw that helpful hint your way. 

Now before I began the hair dying process I put on some older clothing. I didn’t want to risk getting any hair color on my newer clothes. My tee shirt was older because with my hair being long it will probably get on it at some point. I could have wrapped a towel around my neck onto my back but totally forgot it. I guess I was too excited about the hair color and wanting to get it on my hair to see the outcome. Now around my forehead, ears as always I put a thin layer of petroleum jelly. This keeps the dye off my skin and then makes the clean up process so easy. Also I highly recommend that you don’t wash your hair for 24 hours before you use this product. It would help with it taking to your hair better. 

Once I got my hair fully covered with my hair dye I put on the hydracap deep hydrating conditioning cap. This cap was sent to me when I got the sample of the hair color. I put it on easily and used my hair dryer to get it nicely on my head. The cap basically keeps all the hair dye inside and away from dripping while waiting on it to set in and cover my hair. You can order these from the website and get 6 caps per order and it would equal out to less than $1 per use. I will totally be adding these to my cart when I reorder the hair color again. 

The dying process went fairly fast for me with the cap on I could walk around doing chores around house. This seemed to make the process go a lot faster. I left it on my hair the full 45 minutes. Now you could do less but I did the max to make sure it set in really well. 

After the dying process was all over and I washed it out. I let the water run clear in the tub and then added in all natural hair shampoo. Then rinsed it out. After I put in all natural hair conditioner. I let that set in my hair a good 5 minutes just because I didn’t think 3 was long enough.

Finally got all the color dye out of my hair and made sure it was washed really well. I used a black towel to dry my hair just because it might have got messy. I have had oops happen before when dying hair. I didn’t want that to occur again. However it was fine this go around. I got my hair all dried out. 

Then I headed off to my bedroom and brushed out my hair, got my blow dryer, and dried my hair. The drying process takes a good 45 to 60 minutes. It honestly depends on the weather outside as odd as that may sound. Humidity effects my hair something awful. Once my hair is finally dried. I checked it to see how well the dye had covered my hair. I didn’t see any gray or as I like to call them natural highlights. I only saw great coverage from the dye. I fixed my hair the way I usually do. I love the black hair dye and color (black) it looks so natural on my hair. It doesn’t look fake like other colors have looked on my hair. 

Overall; This is a great hair dye that you can use in the comfort of your own home. You don’t have to make appointments that you could miss due to life happening. It’s easier to work with and the smell isn’t much of any if at all. I usually gag over the smell of hair dye. The no harsh chemicals, no complicated instructions and no worrying about having to pay big bucks having someone else do something you can. I highly recommend using this and the color of your choice. I’m here to tell you if you pick black it looks AMAZING! I’ve gotten a ton of compliments since I’ve colored mine. Try out Treasured locks gray away enhanced henna for yourself and let me know how you like it. 

I received this product from the company as a sample. It is a sponsored post. All thoughts and opinions are 100% my own

Leave a Reply

